Skip to main content

The Forced War: When Peaceful Revision Failed

Published 1989

From AAARGH catalog: David Leslie Hoggan (March 23, 1923­August 7, 1988) was an American historian whose work was the subject of much controversy.
At Harvard, Hoggan was awarded a PhD for a dissertation on relations between Germany and Poland in the years 1938-1939 in 1948. During his time at Harvard, Hoggan befriended Harry Elmer Barnes, whose thinking would have much influence on Hoggan. In 1955, Barnes encouraged Hoggan to turn his dissertation into a book, which was published in West Germany as Der Erzwungene Krieg (The Forced War), a book which blamed the outbreak of World War II due to an alleged Anglo-Polish conspiracy to wage aggression against Germany. Hoggan charged the alleged conspiracy was headed by the British Foreign Secretary Lord Halifax, who, Hoggan contended, had seized control of British foreign policy in October 1938 from Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain who was allegedly assisted by Polish Foreign Minister Colonel Jozef Beck in what Hoggan called a monstrous anti-German plot.

In 1969 a short book was published called The Myth of the Six Million, denying the Holocaust. The book listed no author, but the work was by Hoggan, though published without his permission. This should not be confused with his earlier book of 1965 called The Myth of the 'New History', on America's wars. The Myth of the Six Million was published by the Noontide Press, a small Los Angles-based publisher specializing in anti-Semitic literature owed and operated by Willis Carto. The Myth of the Six Million was one of the first books, if not the first book in the English language to deny the Holocaust.

Publisher Costa Mesa, CA : Institute for Historical Review
Year 1989
Language English
Book contributor dudeman5685
Collection folkscanomy_politics; folkscanomy; additional_collections


There are no reviews yet. Be the first one to write a review.
Folkscanomy Politics: Political Systems, Government and Democratic Organization
by Central Executive Committee of the Communist Party of America